Scott Jurek and Nikki Kimball Named Ultrarunners of the Year

b1 837
UltraRunning Magazine has named Scott Jurek and Nikki Kimball their Ultrarunners of the Year for 2007.

Jurek won the Hardrock 100 mile race, with a time of 26:08:34, which was a new course record. He followed that up with a trip to Greece in September to race in the Spartathlon which runs from Athens to Sparta, covering more than 246 km in the process. He completed that event in 23:12:14, taking first place for the fourth time in five years.

Kimball had an equally impressive year claiming victory at the Western States 100 Mile in June with a time of 18:12:37, the second fastest time for a woman ever. From there she went on to win the 101.2-mile Ultra Tour du Mont Blanc in a record time of 25:43:45. Finally she claimed first at the White River in Washington and Mountain Masochist in Virginia, both of which are 50-mile race.

Top “Performances” of the year went to Jurek for his win at Hardrock and to Krissy Moehl for setting a new women’s course record at the same event. She finished in 29:24:25.

Congrats to these amazing athletes. I continually find myself in awe of their abilities. And thanks to Matt Hart for tipping me off to this in his blog.

Kraig Becker