National Geographic Announces 2012 Adventurers of the Year!

National Geographic has announced their selections for the 2012 Adventurers of the Year. As usual, the group is an eclectic lot, with climbers, explorers, surfers, skiers, and more making the cut.

Regular readers of this blog will recognize more than a few names on the list. For instance, Alastair Humphreys received a nod for his efforts to inspire everyone to add a little adventure to their lives. Kayakers Jon Turk and Erik Boomer, whom we followed around Ellesmere Island this past summer, get some much deserved recognition, as does Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner, who became the first woman to summit all fourteen 8000-meter peaks without supplemental oxygen when she conquered K2 at last. Others earning Adventurer of the Year honors include climber Corey Richards, AT thru-hiker Jennifer Pharr Davis, and mountain biker Danny MacAskill.

As they’ve done the past few years, Nat Geo is allowing us to weigh in with our own selection for Adventure of the Year by letting us all vote in their annual People’ Choice poll. Starting today, and running through January 18th, we have the chance to vote each and every day for the person we think is most deserving of the title of Adventurer of the Year. The winner of the People’s Choice award will be announced in February.

The folks at Nat Geo Adventure have also put together a fantastic photo album of this year’s winners as well. You can check those images out by clicking here.

So? What do you think of this list? Personally, I think it is a great cross-section of the many adventures that took place this past year, but in all fairness I have to disclose that I was part of the selection process to a degree and recommended some of these folks for inclusion. Did we miss someone who should have made the list? Who is your choice for the Adventurer of the Year? I happen to like all of these men and women, but if I were forced to pick one, I’d go with Gerlinde.

Congrats to all the winners. This is a much deserved honor.

Kraig Becker

3 thoughts on “National Geographic Announces 2012 Adventurers of the Year!”

  1. Not my first for the year, but should have made in the list versus people I don't consider adventurers but extreme sports(wo)men.

    Andre Borschberg (CH) became last week Adventurer of the year at the international adventure film festival in Dijon (France). He flew 26hours the Solar Impulse during the night.

    who wins? the adventurer who's featured in a film from the competition's selection. Usually 2/3 of the films are in French language, 1/3 is other.

  2. Hi,
    It's a real surprise and an honour to be on the list. My vote definitely goes to the Sherpas!
    It would be a nice idea if each nominee had to vote for one other nominee. It's done in the UK with professional footballers and is a highly regarded idea…
    What do people think?

  3. First, congrats Alastair. I love your inclusion on the list and I think it is much deserved.

    Secondly, I love the idea of the adventurers casting their votes. Who better to choose than their peers? Great suggestion!

Comments are closed.